Pacific War (Errata)

Errata for “Pacific War”, as of April 1986

By Victory Games

Rule Book

8-L-5: Fortifications
Clarification: When naval units engage fortifications, combat occurs during the Naval Combat Cycle. The fortification is treated as an unactivated naval unit, and range is bid by both sides according to the Naval Combat Procedure. The only difference is that the naval units use their Gunnery Strength (not Bombardment Strength) and calculate the effect on the Bombardment vs. Installation line of the Air/Naval CRT.

10-R-0: Strength and Damage
Clarification: Hit distribution for combat against naval targets is determined by the attacking player when he chooses the target for a naval unit, or by establishing target priorities for air strikes. During combat against air targets, the attacking player (the one rolling the die for that particular combat resolution) in both flak and air combat determines which target air units take the hits, except that the first hit in Escort vs. CAP combat must be taken by the air unit that conducts the combat procedure. Additional hits can be distributed without restriction by the attacking player. In ground combat, the hits taken are based on the priorities in 32-R-4.

11-L-7: Airfield Interdiction
Clarification: Although an interdicted airfield cannot search, launch, nor alert air units, CAP air units that are still in the air when the airfield is interdicted can still land; they cannot, however, be subsequently alerted until the airfield is repaired.

23-R-0: Submarine Combat
Addition: Deactivated submarines are treated as naval targets and do not participate in naval combat, nor can they be the target of naval bombardment. In the Anti-Submarine Combat Procedure, it is incorrectly implied that a submarine unit can take more than one hit from ASW combat. A submarine unit will never take more than one hit from ASW combat, although it can be attacked in successive Battle Cycles, which will ultimately achieve the same effect.

25-L-1: Air Supremacy Mission
Clarification: An Air Supremacy Mission is treated in all respects as a normal Strike Mission, except that the air units can participate only in air combat and strafing of airfields.

28-R-6: Air Unit Reorganization
Clarification: During play, players cannot create new air units outside the Air Replacement Step Procedure (49-R-9) for any reason. During air reorganization, the total number of air units will remain constant or decrease, but the Steps can be freely re-distributed at any other time (such as when alerting air units). The Launch Capacity of an airfield is the maximum number of air Steps that can be alerted, but Steps cannot be re-distributed in order to launch the full amount. CAP air units landing on aircraft carriers can reorganize prior to landing.

32-L-7: Pursuit
Correction: Whenever one side retreats (whether by choice or force), the other side can attempt to pursue. If the non-retreating side chooses not to pursue the retreating unit, the non-retreating unit loses a number of Steps equal to half (round up) the number of steps called for by the CRT, remains in the hex, and Deactivates. If the unit passes the check, it moves into the retreating unit’s hex, loses the full number of Steps called for by the CRT, and does not Deactivate. If all enemy units are eliminated, there is no Pursuit.

32-R-2: Troop Quality
Correction: Where the rules state, “When the Ground Combat Results Table calls for a Troop Quality Check…”, it should read “When the Air/Naval Combat Results Table calls for a Troop Quality Check…”.

34-R-7: Headquarters
Clarification: Headquarters are voluntarily disbanded during the Command Phase. A disbanded HQ can be removed from the box and placed on the Month Track one month later as a reinforcement, at a cost of 10 Command Points during the same or a later Command Point Phase; the HQ can then be returned to play during the Reinforcement Phase, as a reinforcement.

45-R-8: Blocked COmmand Links
Addition: A Command Link can be traced into, but not through, a hex containing an enemy ground unit.

49-L-3: Amphibious Transport Replacement
Correction: Replacment Steps for Amphibious Transport units can be purchased and received by the units during the Naval Repair Phase, not the Replacement Phase, as stated.

Japanese Display Sheet

Japanese Command Points Table

Correction: The heading should read, “Lower Resource Level.” The procedure for Determining Japanese Command Points in the rules (45-L-0) is correct.

Operations Display

Naval Movement Track

Clarification: The Naval Movement Track has 22 spaces, but this does not imply any limit to naval movement during a Contact Phase. When the marker is moved to what would be the 23 space, place the marker in the 2-space (skipping 0 and 1) and continue.

Scenario Booklet

  • Whenever a Scenario calls for the entry or set up for a naval unit with a pennant number, type, and class identical to one already in play, replace it with another naval unit of the same type and class, but with a different pennant number.
  • At the beginning of a Scenario, the air units that have multiple setup location can be split up into smaller air units, as long as the total number of Air Steps deployed is equal to the amount stated in the Scenario instructions.
  • Wherever a set-up calls for a large airfield to be placed in Hex 2432 (Truk), replace it with a small airfield. Atolls cannot have large airfields.
  • In Battle Scenario 8, set up a Japanese BB5 Nagato in Hex 3908 (Singapore).
  • In Campaign Scenario 2, place the Japanese South Headquarters in Hex 4322 (Pescadores).
  • In Campaign Scenario 4 and 6, ignore Special Rule 2 and the Japanese November 1942 reinforcement for CL9 Sendai. The Japanese air unit that starts in Hex 2432 (Truk) is a (6)1E-L1, not a (3)1E-L1.
  • In Campaign Scenario 3, the US air units listed in the initial set-up are incorrect. They should be (6)1E-L0, (6)1E-L0, (3)1E-L0, and (2)4E-L0.
  • In Campaign Scenario 3 and both Strategic Scenarios, Hex 4419 (Hong Kong) and 4510 (Bangkok) have Ports, in addition to what is listed in the set-up.
  • In Campaign Scenario 6, the initial Command Points for the August 1942 turn are 20 for the Japenses and 34 for the Allies, rather than the totals stated. The following OB changes, based on post-publication research, should also be made. In the initial set-up in Hex 1427 (Buna), delete the 51 Division and replace it with the 41st and 144th Inf Regiments. In Hex 1626 (Lae), add 1 Marine Bn, 1 Inf Bn, and 1 Engineer Regt to the units already present. Additionally, the (3)1E-L1 air unit that sets up in Hex 2432 (Truk) should be a (6)1E-L1. In the Japanese Reinforcement Schedule, delete the September 1942 reference to the 144 Inf Regt and add the 17th Division for August 1943.
  • In both Strategic Scenarios, where Special Rule 1 states “Japanese player can spend whatever Command Points he wishes”, this statement applies only to Command Points avaialble to the Japanese player for the December 1941 turn, not to an unlimited amount. In Special Rule 3, the no-CAP restrictions also means no alert of air units. Special Rule 5 applies to the Japanese Carrier Strike Force, the KRS and STO submarines (they should all be designated with an asterisk). Special Rule 6 prohibits the activation of any air, ground, or naval units prior to the Activation/Deactivation Phase of the first Battle Cycle of the game in the target port hex only.
  • In both Strategic Scenarios, under Control Marker Set-Up, the last line of the section should read, “controls 10 Co-Prosperity Sphere Resource Points”, not hexes.
  • In both Strategic Scenarios, British air unit locations are changed as follows. Place in any British-controlled airfield a 2E-L1, not 2E-L0. Place in any Indian city (or airfield) a 2E-L1, not 2E-L0. In the January 1942 reinforcement of the CV1 Indomitable and CV3 Formidable, each starts with a (3)1E-CV-L1, not (3)1E-CV-L0.
  • In both Strategic Scenarios, Hex 4927 (Tsingtao), delete the reference for the Japanese set up of 3 Offensive Support Bases.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s